3 is a magic number – featured artist Emma Caton

This series of blogs features the talented artists participating in ‘3 is the Magic Number’ exhibition at the Ropewalk in Bristol. The exhibition was curated by four Bristol artists – Jimmer Willmott, Jemma Davies, DIFF and GUTS.

Introducing the work of Emma Caton…..

Emma is a multi-talented contemporary fine artist who works across a multitude of platforms from sculpture to  jewelry to  print to drawing to large-scale walls to intricate miniatures to installations as well as theatre sets.

Throughout the various mediums she works in there is a strong distinctive style. Her work has strong recurring themes around the environment and our relationship to it as well as each other.

When asked about her style she says ‘I would describe my style as defying categorisation, in as much as my ideas are very much influenced by time, place and circumstances. As such I have embarked on various sojourns into differing creative fields whether it be fine designer making such as jewellery to digital media installations, performance as well as the more static traditions of sculpting, drawing and print. I have a quite a habit of collecting random objects anything from found animal cadavers to old fridges which all are incorporated into my pieces via casting, encapsulation or drawing. My current love is bronze , it’s such a beautiful material to work with and the Foundry I work with seem to greatly enjoy the challenge of helping me manifest my ideas.’

Of her artistic background she says ‘I studied my fine art degree in Bristol during the-mid nineties, an interesting time in the city with regards the music culture and rise of street art, partly the reason that drew me to this diversely creative city was the underground raw energy of the place. I became involved in creating art pieces and events in disused spaces, on the streets predominantly sculptural pieces in resin.’

In 2008 Emma was hit by a car which left her unable to enjoy full movement for 4 years. She says ‘I returned to drawing as a means of rehabilitating my right arm which was left dislocated whilst my ribs were being maneuvered back into place along with my pelvis and spine.’

She is currently working on combinations, mixing up drawings on found vintage panels with sculptures carved from slate, marble or onyx.

‘The three pieces titled ’21st century holocaust’ (or as Bunny and Czee suggested ‘What The Cat Dragged In’) that are on show in 3 is the magic number are some of the preliminary results of my exploration of materials and objects. They are are combination of detritus swept up from my kitchen floor and cast into jewel like refractive resin combined with bronze cast bird cadavers that my cat bought in or onyx carved deer hearts. The activities are ones of observation and what occurs when these processes and objects are combined and presented together.’

 

 

 

 You can see her work at The Ropewalk in Bristol as part of the ‘3 Is A Magic Number’ exhibition- on till 14 April.

Links for Emma

Instagram

Twitter

Leave a Reply

