Upfest 2017 – The wonderful world of Angus

Angus is a Bristol artist born and bred. He has been painting on the streets and in festivals for just over three years now.  His artwork is heavily influenced by current affairs, icons and the people and streets around him.

 

He is known for using well known characters and objects in his work along with tongue in cheek text / suggestions.  Always looking for inspiration and to raise a smile.

 

 

When asked about the last couple of years Angus said: ‘Personal highlights for me would have to include my first ever UpFest where I did a piece for Greenpeace it was my first year of doing any kind of art let alone street art and I found myself in at the deep end, straight away if it could go wrong it did.  I think that will always be one of the most memorable moments.’

19553221_1411390175617061_1117061047_n

He continued ‘I think my first ever exhibition piece holds a special place in my heart for me as well , it’s “WITH A GUN YOU CAN ROB A BANK. BUT WITH A BANK YOU CAN ROB EVERYONE” at The Paper Boat Gallery in Liverpool in 2014.  I did it as a one off but it went crazy online and with more interaction than I knew what to do with.  I even ended up doing a personal commission for Daddy G from Massive Attack through It’s All 2 Much Gallery in Bristol earlier this year.’

19576034_1411370605619018_1787830687_n

About last year at Upfest he added ‘last years UpFest was mental I had a great time painting my Phoenix & Just Above Average.’

 

His ‘Just Above Average’ got picked up by the Lad Bible and certainly made some noise on social media.  As did his piece ‘One for the boys’ to raise awareness for male testicular cancer – getting retweeted by Samuel L.Jackson.

 

Angus returns for his third year at Upfest and will be at the Hen & Chicken and is somewhat tantalising in what he has planned ‘I don’t want to give to much away but its something completely different for me in every way I’m gonna be well out of my comfort zone and pushing my limits. I’ve never done anything like this before. It’s more nostalgic and technical than tongue and check. I think it will surprise a few people myself included.’

About what he likes about Upfest Angus says ‘Without doubt its meeting old friends and making new ones for me. It’s such a great atmosphere and a great place to talk to other people who share the same interests as you plus putting names to faces of fans or interested parties. Oh yeah and the art of course.’

The majority of Angus’s work is available through three Galleries  UpFest and It’s All 2 Much in Bristol and the London WestBank Gallery..  He adds ‘As for street pieces that’s more time sensitive one minute they are there and next there not but that’s the nature of the beast. Every single piece I produce is available to view / purchase through me.’

Where you can find Angus on social media:

Twitter       Facebook        Instagram

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

You can see Angus at the Hen and Chicken  – see map for details festival map click here

2 comments

Leave a Reply

