Upfest 2017 – Everything’s Oh-kay – the artist who married his muse.

First time to Upfest Everything’s Oh-kay is a Gosport based street artist  ‘As a lover of Graffiti and Street art I always felt a bit disheartened when looking at Gosport’s empty walls. So, due to the lack of practising local Street artists I decided to teach myself how to make my own.’

He is the creator of the #5minutescribble and #saynothing tags and Gosport’s only active Street Artist.

‘My art can be seen across the world but I’m not a household name just yet.’

 

Can you tell me a bit of background and how you got into art.

 “I don’t know when I “got into art” as a boy I never really ventured past stick men. My Dad and sister were both good at drawing, but I didn’t even really doodle before about five years ago. First came sharpie drawings and biro sketches. Then I bought some spraypaint and a scalpel, it just went from there.”

Influences on your work

“I grew up appreciating the typical classics, People like Van Gogh, Micelangelo etc. I think the first time I ever had my breath taken away by some paint was standing staring at the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel when I was 15 thinking “shit, this guy broke his back painting in this position for weeks! And it was totally worth it”. Streetart-wise it was seeing images of New York on T.V, alleys covered in paint, Tags on trains.. It looked amazing “

What have you been up to this year? 

“I’ve been focusing on private commissions, community projects and handing out free art My 2016 solo showing at Gosport Discovery centre was well received. The last big exhibition I was involved with was also last year; 44RPM At Playdead in Portsmouth. Was great to be involved with that one”

What have you got coming up fort he rest of the year?

“I’m painting murals at a few smaller festivals as well as Upfest this year, The JerkJam in Titchfield and HAPI Festival Gosport”

Your favourite pieces

“My favourite pieces are “Badger” and “The Lady” Badger because we used to have them wandering around the front garden knocking our door for food. And the Lady because the muse/model is absolutely stunning (so much so I married her)”.

What is important to you about your art?

“That it triggers some sort of emotion or reaction, sparks a thought process that wasn’t previously there”

Can you tell me something about what you will be doing?

“No, it’s a surprise (even to me!)”

What are you looking forward to about Upfest ?

“Meeting up with some arty friends and seeing if there’s any ideas I can steal…borrow! Haha seriously I can’t wait to walk around the site, my first time at Upfest and I’m painting, I’m excited”

 

Website                 Upfest profile

See Everything’s Oh-kay work at St Thomas’ Church

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

Upfest Festival Map

One comment

Leave a Reply

