Upfest 2017 – Spanish artist Aintzane Cruceta is impatient to get to Upfest

Spanish artist Aintzane Cruceta studied in the Faculty of Fine Arts in Malaga, later moving on to illustration.  She says ‘Creating is my job, I am an illustrator. I enjoy working on projects ranging from picture books to art exhibitions and murals.’  She draws inspiration from fairy tales, tattoo, organic shapes, nature, mythology, feminine energy and pop surrealism.  Her favourite techniques are oil painting, acrylic painting and graphite.Of her background in art she said:  Since I was little I liked drawing and my parents have always been dedicated to art.  When I actually managed to achieve my own style was in 2013. I made my first exhibitions and started to use the cardboard as a support for my illustrations. That same year I painted my first mural in the street.Was a major change in my life because people started buying my artwork.’

Main influences on her work are the films of Hayao Miyazaki and the illustrations of Brian Froud. She also takes inspiration from nature, the world of tattooing and graffiti.

In the coming months she will be exhibiting at VPF (Malaga), La Polivalente (Malaga), Guadalajara (Mexico) and Barcelona.  She is also preparing different artistic projects, a book of illustrations, sketches for different murals and a new series of illustrations.

I asked her what was important to her in her art and life There are many important things for me, but what I most appreciate is freedom, health and being happy with my loved ones.’

Of key moments in her career she said ‘I remember a special occasion when the artist C215 bought two of my works.  I was able to meet him in person.  It was one of the most important events in my professional life. Until then I never imagined that artists I admire would buy my illustrations.’

About what she has been doing this year she said ‘I participated in a collective exhibition in Handicap (Málaga), another individual exhibition in Comic Stores (Málaga), I participated in La Noche en Blanco  in Malaga and I have participated in small artistic projects.  I also painted three murals in Los Angeles, California.’

About Upfest this year she says ‘I am impatient to paint there, it is very exciting to paint in such an interesting festival. It’s great to be able to see so many different artists painting at the same time in the same place. I hope to learn from the experience in Bristol, meet many artists, see a lot of art and explore the city (I love traveling).’  Of her work at Upfest this year she said ‘I will be painting a mural with the style of my illustrations.’

I asked her to tell me more about two of her pieces Unicorn addict and Tiempo.

‘Unicorn addict is oil on cardboard.  It is a representation of the addiction to love relationships and the effect it makes on us.  ‘Tiempo is also oil on cardboard. In this illustration I try to shape our dependence on time. We spend our lives looking at the clock, denying the ageing.’

 

Website             Facebook              Instagram           Upfest profile

See Aintzane Cruceta’s work at North St Green.

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

Upfest Festival Map

 

Leave a Reply

