Upfest 2017 – Fawn Mead – recovering through art

18766029_10158639367950004_7317490240037922820_n

Fawn is a new artist on the Bristol scene. The lovely geometric patterns in her colourful work had humble beginnings as an anxiety management tool and have since become a defining feature in her work.

Of her background in art she says ‘I was always into art, my dad is an artist and i’ve always been involved with it in some way or another’.  She continues’ I started line art and acrylics as an anxiety management tool, it’s played a big part in my recovery this year. It’s been incredibly encouraging to make something beautiful out of something so negative. The confidence I built in my recovery allowed me to finally label myself as an artist and prompted me to apply for Upfest 2017. I feel that a lot of people hesitate putting themselves out there as an artist due to a lack in self confidence but I’m happy to report it’s been a fantastic step for me.’ 

18880055_10158645402100004_6971312628364493666_o

Fawn recently completed a commission for The Love Fields at Glastonbury Festival this year.   ‘It was my first proper commission and I loved it.’

On what inspires here she says ‘I’ve been inspired by my name sake Georgia O’keeffe (Fawn Georgia Mead) and her gorgeous colourful flowers. As well as Kandinsky who works with more geometric patterns.’

About Upfest this year she says ‘I will be spray painting a background of bold colours and painting delicate flowers and boobs on top of it. I hope the work really pops by the end. 
I’m most excited about painting alongside other artists this year, I’ve never worked so publicly and it’s going to be a lot of fun!’

 

Twitter            Instagram           Upfest profile

See Fawn Mead’s work at Ashton Gate Stadium

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

Upfest Festival Map

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

