Upfest 2017 – Zase – M32 and how he chose his name.

Zase was born in Trencin, Slovakia and has been involved in art and graffiti since 1995. Back then, graffiti was still young in Trencin, but this only made him more determined to improve he’s skills and develop a style. He is both a skilled artist, and designer with many years of experience in the urban field.

Now a well-established professional freelance artist, Zase produces most of his works from a UK based studio.   He often travels the globe ready to collaborate in new projects and work with new people.

walls-graffiti-bristol-zase-zasedesign-04

Bit of background and how you got into art.

I was born in Slovakia town Trencin. Back then graffiti didn’t exist until 1995. When my friend Nomad literally bought graffiti to town from Germany. When I saw his paintings on wall it completely hooked me.  Since then I’ve fall in love with this type of art. Obviously we didn’t have any legal walls so we had to practice at night that’s how I got mine name Zase it means (again). One day I been caught twice and since then I am Zase (again).  That was when I started thinking about graffiti differently. I developed my style my tag been became more 3D.

Influences on your work 

My biggest inspiration has always been Nomad. My Old friend. He had skills in 90s like nobody and still rocking.  I’ve been lucky enough to have a studio together where I learned lots from him, and for that  I respect him.  Also not forgetting my good  friend Dekor, always pleased to paint with him.  There are lots of other artists I admire but my passion is 3D so Daim  and  Peeta I would also add to the list.

What was the best piece of advice that you were given when you were starting out?

Don’t get caught !!  Particularly the technics I learnt from Nomad: To always work clean, have a good vision and contrast and composition.

A bit about previous exhibitions 

I have been lucky enough to be a part of  a group show exhibition in 2012  in Monaco and previously in Switzerland…. amazing experiences.   I’ve exhibited my own shows all well as been part of group of shows: Upfest, King of Paint, Farm.

I love what I do. Its been a dream job for many years and I always try to do my best not matter if it’s commissioned piece or piece just for fun. I’ve been blessed.

walls-graffiti-bristol-zase-zasedesign-07walls-graffiti-bristol-zase-zasedesign-100

 

 What is important to you about your art?

Mostly it’s satisfaction from it. Mine or public. Then been recognised by my style and quality of work .

What is your process in creating a new piece of work?

Commissioned work first start with a consultation. I then draw a digital project  That’s 60% the rest is just spraycan playground.

Can you tell me something about what you will be doing?

At the moment working or planning on couple of massive walls.  One on M32 roundabout wall Turtle race myself, Dekor done a couple years back (also my all time favourite). The house has since been sold and the new owner has completely rendered the wall So something new coming very soon. Another huge Upfest wall that’s gonna be big challenge.

walls-graffiti-bristol-zase-zasedesign-01

As well commissioned walls for various costumers.

What are you looking forward to most about Upfest?

Upfest it’s always fun. Lots of great artists and amazing atmosphere. But this year is special me and Dekor got probably the longest wall we ever done together (Redpoint Climbing Centre). All from a sizzor lift so planning is important..

Whose work are you looking forward to seeing?

Can’t really tell you as the line up is huge and got tone of great artists . Usually I always very busy through the days. But always loving the last day when I go for wonder round and see all completed pieces.

Website               Upfest Profile

See Zase’s work at Redpoint Climbing Centre

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

Upfest Festival Map

One comment

Leave a Reply

