Upfest 2017 – Mind Control – early starter, smiles and frowns

‘Mind control is from a small town in the midlands. His fun filled artwork is hugely influenced by the way the human mind works and explores ways of exploiting and challenging the views perception on his work. Both comics, and traditional graffiti have influenced his style from a young age. From the age of 12 he has been creating spray painted murals, which began with stencils and he has now moved on to freehand work. At the age of 16 it is his fourth year of painting at some of the best art festivals in Europe. Mind control can’t wait to carry on creating art and having a laugh whilst doing so.’ Upfest profile

14991384_367100006961050_5957520792733615398_o

 

Can you tell me a bit about your background in art?

I got into art when I was at primary school and my teacher told me I had an eye for art, wasn’t that great at anything so was chuffed to have something I was good at, however street art came along after I visited a street art sale in my home town ran by an artist called Melo, he asked me if I’d like to have a go at some stencil workshops and it all began from there and at the age of twelve I painted at my first paint jam. I guess it has all progressed from there.

Influences on your work

I suppose I have a lot of influences when it comes to my artwork, a lot of artists influence my work in different ways for example the likes of Smug and his realism to the imagination of artist duo Herakut. However I am also hugely influenced by the changing world around me from climate change to the progression of modern technology. At the moment my main focus seems to be on the endangerment of animals and combatting that which is why artist Louis Masai has inspired me with his stance on environmental issues.

What have you been doing and what have you got coming up?

I haven’t had many exhibitions , I had one a few years ago with Deeds who is a legend may I add, which was really successful . I suppose I haven’t found the right time and place for a solo show yet however that certainly is something in the pipeline. This year I have Upfest, Cheltenham Paint Festival and Kidderminster paint jam on my list of festivals and a few small surprise projects possibly happening, so I am really excited for what’s to come.

What is important to you about your art?

I find putting across a message and imagery that makes people happy or challenges their stance on certain issues very important, but I mostly just enjoy creating paintings which people enjoy and putting a smile on peoples faces or a frown maybe ..

herakut-714264049_333359163668468_377140899307481193_n

Can you tell me anything about what you are doing for Upfest?

I wont say too much about what I am painting for upfest as I like it to be a surprise but I will say that it is something quite new for me and could go very well or very badly so I am a little nervous, I am going with a bit of an animal theme but that’s all I’m saying .

What are you looking forward to about Upfest?

The vibes are just awesome at Upfest and meeting up with old friends and making new ones.

Where can people find you at Upfest?

I will be painting at the Rising Sun Pub . Come say Hi !

Instagram             Facebook

See Mind Control’s work at Rising Sun Pub

Upfest Saturday 29, Sunday 30 Monday 31 July 2017

Upfest Festival Map

3 comments

Leave a Reply

